Faq. Exámenes ielts

What level is the ielts?

The International English Language Testing System, [6] or IELTS (/ˈaɪ.ɛlts/), is an international standardized test of English language proficiency for non-native speakers of the English language. It is jointly managed by the British Council, IDP: IELTS Australia and Cambridge Assessment English, [6] and was established in 1989. IELTS is one of the most important English tests in the world.

IELTS recognition

IELTS is accepted by most Australian, British, Canadian, European, Irish and New Zealand academic institutions, by more than 3,000 academic institutions in the United States, and by various professional organizations around the world.

IELTS on the CEFR scale

IELTS test users may find the Council of Europe's Common European Framework of Reference for Languages ​​(CEFR) useful. The framework is a series of descriptions of skills at different levels of learning that can be applied to any language.

It can provide a starting point for interpreting and comparing different language qualifications and is increasingly used as a way to assess language ability around the world.

The Common European Framework (CEFR)

The CEFR is an international standard for describing language ability. It ranks an individual's language skills along a six-point scale ranging from A1 (beginners) to C2 (advanced).

IELTS scores range from 0 to 9. IELTS teachers can compare scores to the Common European Framework to help measure a student's language ability.

Since there are many official language exams with different marking systems, it is common to establish a correspondence between their scoring systems and the CEFR levels, so that they are easier to interpret. In the case of IELTS, they would be associated like this:




8.5 - 9.0


7.0 - 8.0


5.5 - 6.5


4.0 - 5.0





If you want to study IELTS in depth:


Guide to prepare the IELTS Academic


To guide you about the IELTS exams: