What are the DELE exams?

The DELE Spanish Diplomas are official qualifications certifying the degree of competence and mastery of Spanish, granted by Instituto Cervantes on behalf of Ministry of Education and Vocational Training of Spain and, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, European Unión and Cooperation of Spain.
The DELE examinations have been designed following the guidelines of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) of the Council of Europe.

The DELE diplomas have great prestige, not only among private and public institutions and authorities, but in the business sectors and in the spanish chamber of commerce. They are an official guarantee and certification of linguistic competence in Spanish language.

How can you make your registration?

You can find all the available exam dates and centres in our web page.


Official recognitions

The DELE diplomas have great prestige, not only amongst private and public institutions and authorities, but in the business sectors and in the Spanish chamber of commerce. They are an official guarantee and certification of linguistic competence in Spanish language.

In many countries, the DELE diplomas have been adopted by educational authorities and teaching centres as complements to their own evaluation programmes. They are ideal in order to ease the promotion and access to education, not only in Spain, but in the rest of the countries where the tests are carried out.

In Spain, the DELE diplomas are recognised by international organisations and regional institutions.

In Spain, in order to enter the Spanish Ministry of Justice, the user needs the DELE diploma A2 or an advanced one. Because one of the requirements that is needed if the user wants to get Spanish nationality is that he/she must possess a certain level of Spanish linguistic knowledge if he/she is not from a Spanish speaking country.

In order to enter the Health Ministry, the DELE C1 or C2 diploma is needed for the access of MIR and FIR vacancies.

International official recognition (of studies carried out in other countries): The users that possess a DELE C2 diploma and join the Spanish educational system by convalidation of studies which have been carried out in another country will not have to take any Spanish proficiency tests.

The General State and Public Organism Administrations: The DELE diplomas are considered to show the appropriate levels of Spanish linguistic competence for any professional or academic activity in Spain which requires certain levels of proficiency.

In France, the DELE diplomas are recognised officially by the French Ministry of Education.


Provinces with exams DELE

Shropshire Cumbria Suffolk Scottish Borders, The Aberdeen City Causeway Coast and Glens Norfolk West Sussex Highland Kent Armagh, Banbridge and Craigavon Neath Port Talbot Manchester Durham Northumberland Derbyshire Lincolnshire Merton Dumfries and Galloway Hampshire Angus North Ayrshire Oxfordshire Nottinghamshire Aberdeenshire Herefordshire Gloucestershire Northamptonshire Derby Caerphilly Fife Wigan Devon Fermanagh and Omagh Stirling Gwynedd North Yorkshire Wiltshire Staffordshire Vale of Glamorgan, The Surrey Bedford Worcestershire Somerset Glasgow City Cambridgeshire Mid Ulster Rotherham Buckinghamshire Pembrokeshire West Lothian Midlothian South Gloucestershire North Somerset Monmouthshire Antrim and Newtownabbey Stockport Dundee City Cornwall Essex Blackburn with Darwen East Riding of Yorkshire Moray Redbridge Warwickshire Kirklees Croydon Argyll and Bute Bath and North East Somerset Powys Bridgend Thurrock East Sussex Leicestershire Flintshire Barnsley East Lothian Rhondda Cynon Taff Wrexham Bromley Newry, Mourne and Down Leeds Cheshire West and Chester Carmarthenshire Plymouth Sefton Torfaen Derry and Strabane Solihull Swansea South Lanarkshire Dorset Coventry Waltham Forest Conwy West Dunbartonshire Denbighshire Tameside South Ayrshire Central Bedfordshire Wakefield East Dunbartonshire Lancashire West Berkshire Ceredigion Orkney Islands Milton Keynes Trafford Hertfordshire Renfrewshire Sutton York Newport Perth and Kinross Mid and East Antrim Tower Hamlets North Lincolnshire Falkirk East Ayrshire Halton Peterborough North Lanarkshire Cheshire East Stoke-on-Trent Kingston upon Hull, City of Walsall Eilean Siar Birmingham Barnet Bury Ards and North Down Wolverhampton Swindon Edinburgh, City of Sandwell Rutland Newcastle upon Tyne Medway Southend-on-Sea Bolton Warrington Redcar and Cleveland Isle of Anglesey Shetland Islands Darlington Cardiff Dudley North East Lincolnshire Bradford Wokingham Lambeth South Tyneside Nottingham Havering Calderdale Brighton and Hove Stockton-on-Tees Salford Hartlepool Knowsley Bournemouth Oldham Kingston upon Thames Wirral Blaenau Gwent Lisburn and Castlereagh Merthyr Tydfil Isle of Wight Hammersmith and Fulham Bracknell Forest Blackpool Harrow Telford and Wrekin Belfast Bexley Clackmannanshire Poole Sheffield Doncaster Richmond upon Thames Middlesbrough Liverpool Rochdale Leicester Inverclyde Reading Sunderland Hillingdon East Renfrewshire Hounslow North Tyneside Luton St. Helens Gateshead Isles of Scilly Lewisham Islington Windsor and Maidenhead Greenwich Brent Newham Bristol, City of Wandsworth Enfield Ealing Barking and Dagenham Westminster Hackney Haringey Slough Camden Kensington and Chelsea Southampton Portsmouth London, City of Southwark Torbay

Post in our blog about DELE exams.