IELTS exams. Online enrolment

IELTS exams

The International English Language Testing System (IELTS) is the most popular English mastery test in the world for advanced education and international mobility. It is designed for evaluating the candidate's linguistic abilities which are required for studying and working. It forms part of Cambridge University, the British Council, and IDP IELTS Australia and it was founded in 1989.

What knowledge and skills does the English IELTS exam assess?

The IELTS English test consists of four parts:

Listening comprehension (Listening).

Oral expression (Speaking), it consists of an interview.

Writing comprehension (Reading), it is different compared to other academic or global tests.

Writing expression (Writing), it is different compared to other academic or general tests.


What types of exams are there and what are they divided into?

There are two types of IELTS exams, academic education and general training. In both exams, the parts of Listening comprehension and Oral expression are the same. But the Writing expression and Reading comprehension parts in the general test are related to topics of daily life, while in the academic test the topics are more related to analytical subjects. 

IELTS Academic

The IELTS Academic test is for people applying for higher education or professional registration in an English speaking environment. It reflects some of the features of academic language and evaluates whether you are ready to begin studying or training.

IELTS General Training

The IELTS General Training test is for those who are going to English speaking countries for secondary education, work experience or training programs. It is also a requirement for migration to Australia, Canada, New Zealand and the UK. The test focuses on basic survival skills in social and workplace contexts.


What levels do the IELTS exams certify?

What levels are certified by the IELTS Test of English? 

The first thing you should know about the IELTS tests is that they do not have a pass or fail format. The results you obtain will show your English competence level. The exam evaluates your English level with a score system from 1 (lowest score) to 9 (highest score). Your results will appear as a whole number (5.0) or as decimal numbers (5.5 or 7.5).

According to the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR), the scores between 1 and 3.5 correspond to the A1 and A2 levels, which indicate that the user has a basic knowledge of English.

The scores between 4 and 5 are equivalent to the B1 level, which is an intermediate level,

The scores between 5.5 and 6.5 correspond to the B2 level, which is an intermediate advanced level,

The scores between 7 and 8.5 are equivalent to the C1 level, which corresponds to a high level and  

If you obtain a 9, your level will be equivalent to that of a C2 certificate, which means your are an expert in the language.

What is the duration of the English IELTS exams?

The total duration of the test is of 2 hours and 45 minutes, distributed in the following way:

Listening Comprehension 30 minutes.

Reading Comprehension 60 minutes.

Writing Expression 60 minutes.

Oral Expression lasts between 11 and 14 minutes. It is important to know that the Oral Expression part is completed on a different day than the three other parts of the test.

What advantages does it have?

IELTS is designed for evaluating the competence of the linguistic abilities of the candidates on all levels. Therefore, the aim is to certify the level reached by each candidate. 

The parts of Listening Comprehension, Reading and Writing of all IELTS tests are completed on the same day, with no interruptions between them. 

The Oral Expression part, however, can be completed up to a week a before or after the other parts of the test. The examination centre will notify you.

IELTS is available in more than 1600 examination centres and in more than 140 countries and territories. 

The IELTS mark certificates are shown in a Test Report Form (TRF), which gives you all the details about your test in a very understandable way.

The results of the exam are expressed in scoring system from 1 (the lowest mark) to 9 (the highest mark). Therefore, the results are very easy to understand.

The results are published in the Web platform 13 days after the exam has been completed.

Since their foundation, IELTS have had a global reputation because they offer safe and trustworthy tests backed up by an extensive research which satisfies the necessities of a wide variety of sectors, including the high educational authorities, governmental departments, health regulators and employers. 

The IELTS certificate not only demonstrates the user's English knowledge, but it also certifies the linguistic abilities which are required in high education, professional contexts and in day to day situations. The user must be able to use English in an effective way in many real life contexts.

The IELTS exam evaluates the level of international English, without preferrence for the British or the American version. This feature, plus the fact that the exam can be done anywhere around the world, justifies IELTS' prestigious international recognition. 

It is noteworthy highlighting that scoring a 6 is the minimum requirement in order to demonstrate a decent English level in the exam.

The vast availability in exam dates that IELTS offer is one of the main advantages of this platform. 

You can obtain five free additional copies of your certificate which will be sent to the examination centre in which you have enrolled, after you have completed the online registration. 

There are many dates throughout the year in which you can take the test in the different examination centres around the world.



How long are the scores valid?

The results are valid for two years. 

How can you complete your enrolment?

You can find all the dates and available examination centres in our web page, completing your enrolment in less than 5 minutes.


Official acknowledgments

IELTS have experienced a dramatic increase in the past years, up to one million candidates last year. They are recognised by 6.000 educational institutions, universities and advanced training  institutions in Europe, the United Kingdom, Latin America, Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, New Zealand and in European mobility programmes. They are also recognised by the United States of America with more than 2.100 registered universities, among them, the prestigious Ivy League.

Even the USA have institutions that prefer IELTS: "... while Duke University Graduate School accepts IELTS and TOEFL certificates, the IELTS certificate is the preferred English language competence qualification.



Look for exams

Upcoming finalising exams

Last exams published

Post in our blog about IELTS exams.

English test preparation statistics

More women than men enroll to achieve an official English certificate. There is no age to study English. Obtaining an official certificate is a goal to achieve for us